BLACKBERRY HAZELNUT CAKE


Ive been looking for a good hazelnut cake recipe for a few weeks now.  When I went shopping for the macaroons I made a few weeks ago I also bought a bunch of hazelnut meal. i dont know, maybe its the italian in me but i really really really love hazelnuts. After lurking countless baking blogs i remembered that I had the perfect recipe in one of my cookbooks! A marionberry-hazelnut cake. Marionberries? thanks to google I now know that its just a variety of blackberry. So blackberries it is.

The recipe said to bake the cake for 35-40 minute but I needed to bake mine for 55 min. Normally my oven bakes fast because its pretty old but this one took extra time… I would highly suggest testing the cake with a cake tester or a toothpick before taking it out of the oven.

This cake was really good. really really good. Nearly half is gone already (no i didnt eat it all myself) and I only made it an hour ago!!

I was a little confused by this cake. The batter reminded me so much of fall..with the toasted nuts and cinnamon, but berries are a summer fruit. I bought my fresh blackberries on sale because they are out of season, therefore expensive, but you could totally use frozen if you want.  I suppose you could make this in the summer, but I might swap the hazelnut meal for almond meal and the cinnamon for lemon zest. Just a thought.

BLACKBERRY HAZELNUT CAKE

  • 1 1/4 cups ground hazelnut meal
  • 1 stick unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 cups fresh or frozen blackberries
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup hazelnuts toasted, skinned, and chopped
  1. preheat oven to 325°
  2. butter and flour a 9 in round springform pan
  3. scatter the nut meal on a baking sheet and bake for 8 minutes or until lightly toasted then let cool
  4. increase the oven temperature to 350°
  5. in a large bowl, cream the butter , all the granulated sugar, and 1/2 cup of brown sugar until light and fluffy
  6. add the eggs, one at a time and the almond extract then beat till smooth
  7. in a medium bowl, mix the hazelnut meal, flour, baking powder, and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. stir to blend.
  8. gradually add flour mixture to the wet ingredients and beat until smooth
  9. spread batter evenly in prepared pan
  10. scatter the berries evenly across the top of the batter
  11. toss the remaining cinnamon, brown sugar, and chopped hazelnuts and sprinkle over the top
  12. bake for 35-50 minutes (it just depends on your oven so be sure to check it!) cake is done when cake tester comes out clean
  13. let cool on cooling rack for 10 minutes then remove the spring form pan
  14. serve warm or at room temperature.

extra good  with a little vanilla ice cream or whipped cream!!!

recipe adapted from coffee cakes

Tagged , ,

Leave a comment