MINI CHOCOLATE CROISSANTS

Easiest recipe ever. In fact I didnt even use one. I had really been craving chocolate croissants so i just threw some together.  I really wanted these at 1:30 last night and once again decided id bake in the middle of the night (usually doesnt end well… if you read my last post, youd know this) I didnt have anything I needed to make these so I thought Id go to the store…I mean there has to be at least one 24hr grocery store somewhere…nope. I went to 3. It was a bust. I took it as a sign and gave up for the night. Today I went the store at a decent hour like a normal person..picked up some puff pastry and ghirardelli semi sweet chocolate (and some other things I needed for my next post).

OK. I took the easy way out. there is a way to make your own puff pastry but I didnt want to. (I would like to try someday…)

I just wanted chocolate croissants.

MINI CHOCOLATE CROISANTS

makes 1 dozen croissants

  • 1 sheet puff pastry dough (you can get it in the frozen food section)
  • 1 1/2 squares of semi-sweet chocolate (or chocolate chips..whatevs)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  1. pre heat oven to 425°
  2. defrost puff pastry on a lightly floured surface
  3. unfold dough gently. If dough is torn you can wet your fingers and repair the crack
  4. use a pizza cutter and cut the dough into 6 squares
  5. cut each square diagonally resulting in two triangles
  6. lay a triangle out in front of you with the long side of the triangle facing you
  7. break chocolate up into little pieces  and place a few in about 3/4 in up from the bottom (the long side) on the triangle
  8. starting at the bottom roll the dough up towards the point
  9. pinch the ends and bend into croissant shape
  10. place on parchment lined baking sheet
  11. brush with egg wash
  12. bake for 15 min or until golden brown

super easy, no?

They were so good I think ill make them bigger next time……

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “MINI CHOCOLATE CROISSANTS

  1. savorysimple says:

    Wow, these sound decadent!

  2. brent says:

    katieeeee i love your new blog. make me some chocolate croisssants pleaseeee

Leave a comment